Documenting My Passion

To kick things off, here’s one of my favorite routines from “So You Think You Can Dance”:

Choreographer: Travis Wall | Song: “If it Kills Me” by Jason Mraz | Performed by: Jeanine Mason and Jason Glover

Travis is a genius.  This was his first choreographed piece for the show, but it was presented so professionally that he could have been mistaken as a regular at the time.  When I first watched it, I was on the verge of tears because it was so beautifully composed.  Jeanine and Jason’s flawless chemistry blew my mind, and I’m sure Travis was just as proud.  I liked how Travis used the necklace, especially at 0:55 and 1:17, and I still get chills at 0:15 and 0:32-0:36.   I’m so glad Jeanine won that season.  She totally deserved it.

I’m using this video as my first post because it was the first dance I combined with my academics, which I consider a breakthrough moment because it helped me realize my passion for dance.  This video was part of my final paper for a fine arts class my freshman year.  As difficult as it was to make dancing fit the criteria of my assignment, I enjoyed every bit of research in the process, which has never happened with any other projects in the past.  I have much gratitude for this work of art.  So, thank you Travis, Jeanine, and Jason!

Thoughts? Please share!

