UK 101: Fighting Til the End

Like I said in my last post, blocking and cleaning can be very stressful and tedious, but I think that our team is steadily approaching our goal – a clean, technical, emotional, and entertaining show.  We all worked really hard tonight, so let’s push through the last few practices we have and stay focused – every member is equally important, so if we’re all patient and cooperative, everything will flow more easily.

Let’s remember what a great job we did at our most recent performance – the step show routine in February.  Although we were pressed for time, we had a great concept, creative choreography, and blocking that we pulled out of nowhere the night before the show.

Step Show 2011 | Choreographers: Kathy Mendes, Tasha Henry, Cina McKenna, Catie Brown, Demetirus White, Manny Freeman, Brittany Hill | Songs: “This is How We Do It” by Montell Jordan, “Start it Up” by Lloyd Banks, “Bring it Back” by Travis Porter, “Baby I Like It” by Kevin Cossom ft. Fabolous and Diddy, “Oops I Did It Again” by Britney Spears, “Hello Good Morning” by Dirty Money ft. Rick Ross, Nicki Minaj, and Lil Kim, “What’s My Name” by Rihanna, “Sexyback” by Justin Timberlake, “Whip My Hair” by Willow Smith, “6 Foot 7 Foot” by Lil Wayne ft. Cory Gunz, “Gettin Jiggy With It” by Will Smith, “Roman’s Revenge” by Nicki Minaj, “Rock My World” by Michael Jackson, “Bad” by Michael Jackson | Performed by: Urbanknowlogy 101

This was one of my favorite performances for the year so far.  Everyone had soo much energy, and ALL of us were killin it.  It’s not like there were only a few dancers I would consistently watch to get the feel of the show – the team looked together as a whole (which is the most important part of a routine) and I had to watch it over and over again so I could catch each individual’s distinct style.  So, now that we have seen what blocking worked and what didn’t, we are improving those spots and expanding by adding new choreography for this Saturday.  Let’s work.

Btw, I just created a youtube channel parallel to this blog so that I could post videos of UK 101.  Cheesy, I know :)

Woohoo! kaleidoscopeofdance

Thoughts? Please share!

