UK 101: Final Events for Spring 2011

It’s been so long since I’ve updated!  Finals are eating my energy up, but I’d thought I’d take a break and treat myself after finishing four papers in two days.  WOO!  We are having our last UK social tonight (SOBS) so I wanted to wrap it up with our last two bomb performances and reflect on what an awesome job we’ve all done this year.

In the middle of practice last Monday, Kathy was like, oh yeah by the way I have a charity event tomorrow and I want you guys to be in it.  No big deal.  LOL.  So Kathy made a little medley of songs we know, and eight of us met up three hours before the event started for Kathy to go over blocking and transitions.  Here’s the end product:

GMU Gives Back | Choreographers: Catie Brown, Manny Freeman, Kathy Mendes | Songs: “What’s My Name” by Rihanna, “Sure Thing” by Miguel Jontel, “All of the Lights” by Kanye West, “Rock My World” by Michael Jackson, “Only Girl” by Rihanna | Performed by: Urbanknowlogy 101

I was so glad that Kathy added Manny’s choreo to “Sure Thing” in the medley because I absolutely adore it.  I had to restrain myself from smiling like a chinky-eyed Asian the whole time because this song just makes me so happy to dance to, and it somehow makes me feel closer to Shaun Evaristo (whose version I hope to learn by this summer).  I totally messed up the turn in “Rock My World,” and then I stepped on Ebony’s foot (sorry girl!) so I got thrown off for a bit.  Everyone was freaking out about our solo freestyling to “Only Girl,” but I think that it came out pretty tight.

After a little break and some Papa John’s pizza, we ran straight to practice for For the Love (which I did a post on last week).  The lovely Jay Jones and Tasha Henry emceed/danced in the crowd and introduced us as the first act for the night:

4th Annual For the Love of Hip Hop | Choreographers: Tasha Henry, Manny Freeman, Jay Jones, Catie Brown | Songs: “Did it on Them” by Nicki Minaj, “Already Taken” by Trey Songz, “No Bullshit” by Chris Brown, “All of the Lights” by Kanye West | Performed by: Urbanknowlogy 101

Moments I want to highlight:
0:44-0:48 Cina and Ebony doing their thing
0:50-0:53 haha at practice Lawrence was commenting on how tough I look, but in my head I was always felt like I looked like a horse galloping to my next spot
1:17 everyone was so on point!
1:26-1:28 aww UK love
1:43 looked so good when everyone turned at the same time
1:54-1:58 that lock was really together
2:13 seriously it sounds like my camera’s going to break – they haven’t even started dancing yet! haha
2:40-2:42 hahaha, then that leg
3:28-3:54 thank you, Catie, for this wonderful choreo

Unfortunately, my camera battery died, so I wasn’t able to capture our second performance.  I do know that we did really well and everyone’s blocking looked hot.  To make up for it, I have an exclusive video of Beat Ya Feet Kings, thanks to Meg:

4th Annual For the Love of Hip Hop | Performed by: Beat Ya Feet Kings

UK was going crazy when “Motivation” came on (TP, our founder, was featured in the music video), and I cracked up at 3:14 because that’s the move everyone loves to act out at practice.  All the members of Beat Ya Feet Kings showcased their own style at the end, and I can’t even put into words how much energy they had, despite the small carpeted stage.  Well done, lady and gentlemen, well done.

So this draws a close to another great semester with UK 101.  I can’t believe it’s already been two years since I joined the team!  Being part of Urbanknowlogy is one of the best decisions I made at Mason, and it’s going to be so hard getting used to having my Monday and Wednesday nights free over the summer.  I’m going to miss each and every one of you so much!  Mwah <3

Thoughts? Please share!

