Fanny Pak: “Skin” by Rihanna

So.  This is what I’ve been missing out on by not regularly tuning into America’s Best Dance Crew (ABDC).  Side note – I sometimes feel that the voters are rooting for the wrong teams, and I prefer more airtime for the dancers than the judges who have their same go-to praises and criticism for every team.  I guess you could say the same about So You Think You Can Dance (SYTYCD), but for some reason I can tolerate it a little more.  Speaking of, to all SYTYCD fans, Season 8 premiere is on May 26th!  I’m totally biased.

Anyways, the point of this post isn’t about either of these dance shows.  It’s about Fanny Pak, a crew who just happened to take third place on the second season of ABDC.  No big deal or anything, they just have these two unbelievable choreographers named Matt Cady and Megan Lawson who tear up the floor each time they collaborate.  I give many thanks to Maryam (hey girl, you’re getting pretty famous on my blog here) because she brought me to this video of scrumptiousness:

Song: “Skin” by Rihanna | Choreographers: Matt Cady and Megan Lawson | Performed by: Matt Cady and Megan Lawson (1) and class (2)

I don’t even know where to begin.  The more I watch it the harder it is to describe the fabulosity of this piece.  Honestly though, I’ve taken a week to figure out what I’m going to say because there is so much going on all at the same time.  First off, I like how Matt and Megan’s bodies scream sexiness throughout the piece without any use of blatantly raunchy moves.  The song itself is already steamy, but they add a playful “I know I’m hot so you’re going to have to work for it” attitude that’s not so in-your-face, which makes it all the better because you’re focusing on their movements more than anything else (or at least I hope so).

Let’s dissect, shall we?  0:14-0:20 is so darn clean.  Matt and Megan show their musicality by staying lighter on their feet in the beginning and layering with hard hits when the bass comes in later on.  I’m still trying to figure out how they get that tuck onto the floor at 0:21 to look so smooth, and that right foot on “on blast” is very smart.  I really like how the sharpness at 0:26 contrasts the scoot backwards before it, and props to Megan for making 0:30-0:32 super creepy and sexy.  Then that turn, oh that turn, at 0:44, for “drop it to the floor, oh.”  It’s just so “I’m just going to fall like a spinning fairy” and then BAM, pause in mid-turn to give a little tease.  0:49-0:54 is cool.  0:56 is probably one of my favorite parts, so subtly hot.  I like the illusions that are created at 1:01-1:06 and the turn that starts at 1:20.  “Breathing down my neck” at 1:27 is another favorite part, and of course 1:29-1:31.  Ahh, why so good.

I’m thinking the second clip was from a workshop they taught together and they wanted to show how awesome the dancers were for picking up this sick choreography.  I like watching the guy in the white tank top, the girl in the purple, and the girl in the teal.  They look like they’ve got the attitude and mood that Matt and Megan were aiming for.

New summer goal: learn/teach this in exchange for lindy technique.  Get excited Maryam.

Thoughts? Please share!

