A Year to Focus

2013 was a year for many changes. While change is exhilarating, it’s also tiring. This year was filled with great memories, but I’m ready to move forward.

For 2014, I’m taking all the time I need to focus on myself. There are so many things I’ve put on my ever-growing to-do list, including unfinished blog posts, that I’ve put off because of one excuse or another. One day, it was because I was figuring out my career path. Another day, I was too tired. And before I knew it, I was making excuses left and right – weeks flew by, then months.

My career, aside from dance, is the most important thing for me, and not knowing what direction I was heading earlier this year made me nervous. I currently have that figured out and feel much better about it, but I’ve ignored the smaller things that made me the best that I could be, to really take care of myself.

This year, I have personal goals to help me figure out who I am as a dancer, thinker, friend and family member. While the new year gives us a chance to start fresh with a clean slate, I’ve already started tackling some of my projects. Why wait until a date to tell me when to start something? So here’s to 2014, a year for planning, preparing and focusing.

Graduation with my sisters
Graduation with my sisters
Spring NYC trip
Spring NYC trip
Thoughts? Please share!

